'Passenger Will Be Charged A Token' - Osun Govt Speaks as Palliative Buses Commence Operation

The morning and afternoon shifts for Osogbo buses, which will operate from 6:45 am to 9 am, 3pm to 5pm Monday to Friday respectively.

'Passenger Will Be Charged A Token' - Osun Govt Speaks as Palliative Buses Commence Operation

Osun State has launched commuter buses that would transport state civil servants, students, and other citizens along a few designated routes.

This is one of the steps taken to lessen the impact of the gasoline subsidy termination.

At the official bus unveiling in Osogbo on Monday, Governor Ademola Adeleke, represented by Deputy Governor Kola Adewusi, announced that the buses would operate in two shifts: a morning shift from 6:45 am to 9 am and an afternoon shift from 3 pm to 5 pm, Monday through Friday.

In his words, "I assure residents of the state that their welfare remains paramount to the present administration. The administration will continue to embark on programmes and policies that will put smiles on the faces of the residents.

"I commend civil servants for their resilience and commitment to their duties despite the harsh economic realities. I assure them that this government will always prioritise their welfare."

In his opening address, Commissioner for Transportation, Sesan Oyedele, while assuring residents of the state of more buses in the coming days, described the Adeleke government as a workers' friendly one.

"Passengers will be charged a token fee on each drop for the running and maintenance of the buses," Oyedele added.

The routes for the five buses in Osogbo are as follows: Dada Estate-Capital-Okefia-Olaiya and terminate at Abere (Secretariat).

The second bus will ply Stadium Roundabout-Ayetoro-Old Garage-Olaiya and terminate at Abere (Secretariat).

The third bus will convey passengers from Oja Oba-Isale-Osun-Odi Olowo-Olaiya and terminate at Abere (Secretariat).

The fourth bus is scheduled to take off at Owode Ede-Abere-Ogo Oluwa-Olaiya and terminate at Old Garage, and the fifth bus will commence movement from Okinni-LAMECO-Dele-Yes Sir-East Bye Pass and terminate at Abere (Secretariat).


Keep up to date with our latest articles and uploads...